Pumpkin Pie Steel Cut Oats

IMG_6873So as you can tell I am on this pumpkin craze and I don’t know when its gonna stop but my brain is thinking of all these amazing things to make with it. Now if only it felt like fall around here then maybe I would feel right! Come on lets be real, pumpkin is right anytime!

I just started to make steel cut oats not to long ago and found my favorite way to make them is a bake i do. Honestly my favorite easy breakfast. I make all the time and can’t wait to test it out with pumpkin but for this occasion I want to try a different version of overnight oats.

I have found that when I make overnight oats with steel cut oats they are still too crunchy for me and i don’t really like them that way..so I came up with this version! This maybe my new favorite though..

So this version makes a lot so its perfect for a family ( or if your like me a boyfriend who is training for a 30 mile beast spartan race and needs his good carbs) or for the whole week:
IMG_6870

Ingredients~
~8 cups of water
~2 cups of steel cut oats
~1/2 cup of maple syrup (can add more if you like it real sweet.)
~1 tbs cinnamon
~1 1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice
~1 tbs of vanilla extract
~1/4 cup almond/coconut milk
~2 1/2 cups of 100% pumpkin puree ( make sure its not pie mix that is filled with sugar)

What you need to do:
Directions~

1)Bring 8 cups of water in a pot

2)Once boiling add 2 cups of oats into the pot and reduce to low for about 30 mins. Making sure you mix every once and a while so the oats don’t stick to the bottom.

3)Once it soaks up most of the water and the oats are soft add the rest of the ingredients and mix all together.Now let the pot simmer on the stove for a little bit till the milk is incorporated through making it creamy.

4) I have tried this when it was warm but prefer to eat it when it is cold and it tastes better every night you let it sit in the fridge.Add about 1/2 to 1 cup of almond coconut milk into the oats mix up real good this will make it creamy almost like a pudding then put in the fridge overnight. The flavor make magic in the fridge over night.

**IF you don’t want to make as much you can cut the recipe in half and only do one cup of oats..the 1st time i only made 1 cup but i knew i need to make more for this weekend and week coming up!

I love having healthy breakfast already to go quick and easy! Also you can top with many things for mikes i did some dark chocolate chips greek yogurt and coconut cashews. Mine i did cashew butter and cinnamon and the next day greek yogurt and cocoa nibs.

This stays good in the fridge all week.Great to make ahead for meal prep for the week!

Leave a Reply

